All 5 of Michael Jordan’s MVP Seasons Ranked

Michael Jordan is one of the greatest NBA player of all time. His GOAT status involves an incredible blend of individual domination and team success. Not only is Jordan one of the best scorers ever, but he also led the Chicago Bulls to six NBA titles and earned five MVP awards.

This MVP honors put him just one behind Kareem Abdul-Jabbar for most all-time. (LeBron James remains a threat to tie Jordan with four MVPs.) Let’s rank all five of MJ’s MVP seasons to see what made each one so special.

5. Michael Jordan’s 1997-98 MVP

In this season, the Bulls capped off the second of two “threepeats,” giving Jordan his sixth and final championship victory. MJ scored only 28.7 points per game during the regular season — his lowest total for a full season. But he cranked his average up to 32.4 for the playoffs, earning his sixth Finals MVP. He also won his fifth and final regular-season MVP this year.

4. 1995-96 MVP

The 1995-96 season was Jordan’s first full season back after he retired to play minor league baseball. He scored 30.4 points per game and won his eighth scoring title, moving past Wilt Chamberlain for the best all-time. Jordan also won his fourth MVP award and ultimately led the Bulls to the first title of their second threepeat.

3. Jordan’s 1991-92 MVP

Jordan earned his third MVP award during the 1991-92 season. He averaged 30.1 points, 6.4 rebounds, and 5.8 assists per game. With highly efficient scoring, MJ knocked down 51.9% of his shots. During the playoffs, he upped his scoring average to 34.5 points per game.

Arguably his greatest moment of the season came in Game 1 of the NBA Finals against the Portland Trailblazers — a game now known as “The Shrug Game.” Jordan came out red hot, scoring a finals record of 35 points in the first half. After canning his sixth three-point shot of the night, MJ spread his hands and shrugged as he ran back down the court.

2. 1987-88 MVP

Jordan earned his first MVP award and Defensive Player of the Year in the 1987-88 season. He averaged 35 points per game to go along with 5.5 rebounds, 5.9 assists, and a staggering 3.2 steals per game. MJ also landed in NBA lore with an insane performance in the 1988 Slam Dunk Contest, which he won after a one-handed dunk from the free-throw line.

1. 1990-91 MVP

Fans may quibble about the placement of the seasons on this list, but few can argue that the 1990-91 season will go down in history as Jordan’s best. He made 31.5 points per game en route to capturing his fifth scoring title in a row and winning his second MVP award. He also had six rebounds, 5.5 assists, and 2.7 steals per game.

Jordan entered this season with a chip on his shoulder, having suffered three straight postseason losses to the Pistons. He even led a secret workout club to boost he and his teammates’ fitness. The work paid off as the Bulls easily swept the Pistons in four games in the Eastern Conference Finals.

The Bulls went on to face the Magic Johnson-led Lakers in the NBA Finals. After losing the first game, Chicago stormed back to win the next four, with Jordan taking home Finals MVP Honors. It was the perfect way to cap off the best season of his career.

Follow more updates from Sportscasting on our Facebook page.