NFL: 5 Winningest Coaches in Postseason History

Jim Rogash/Getty Images

Tom Brady broke the NFL record for most career postseason touchdown passes — 46 is the new mark — in the New England Patriots’ 35-31 divisional round win over the Baltimore Ravens.

Brady’s record-breaking touchdown pass ended up being the game winner, and propelled Patriots head coach Bill Belichick to his 20th career postseason win. Where do his 20 career postseason wins rank on the all-time list of coaches with the most postseason wins in NFL history?

All statistics are courtesy of Pro-Football-Reference.

Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

5. Chuck Noll

  • Career postseason wins: 16
  • Career postseason winning percentage: .667
  • Super Bowl titles: 4

Noll was the head coach of Steelers during the era of their vaunted “Steel Curtain” defense. A big reason for his success was the fact that he was one of the best talent evaluators and drafters in the history of professional football. The team he built won four Super Bowls in six years, from 1974 to 1979.

Noll was elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1993, his first year of eligibility.

Greg Fiume/Getty Images

4. Joe Gibbs

  • Career postseason wins: 17
  • Career postseason winning percentage: .708
  • Super Bowl titles: 3

Most of Gibbs’s NFL coaching success came during his first stint with the Washington Redskins. From 1981 to 1992, Gibbs led the Redskins to three Super Bowl titles with three different quarterbacks and teams full of players that many other coaches around the league felt were nothing more than mediocre NFL talents. He was elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1996.

Rhona Wise/Getty Images

3. Don Shula

  • Career postseason wins: 19
  • Career postseason winning percentage: .528
  • Super Bowl titles: 2

Shula holds the NFL record for most regular-season wins by a head coach, with 328. In his 33 years as an NFL head coach, Shula went 19-17 in the postseason and won two Super Bowl titles with the Miami Dolphins. He was the architect and leader of the 1972 Dolphins, the only undefeated team in NFL history. Shula’s six Super Bowl appearances also remain a league record, and he was elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1997.

Ken Levine/Getty Images

1. Tom Landry [tie]

  • Career postseason wins: 20
  • Career postseason winning percentage: .556
  • Super Bowl titles: 2

Landry is one of two coaches in NFL history with 20 postseason wins. He was the first head coach in Dallas Cowboys franchise history and held the position for 29 years, which is tied for the NFL record for the longest tenure by a coach with a single team. From 1966 to 1985, Landry led the Cowboys to 20 straight winning seasons, five NFC Championships, and two Super Bowl titles. He is also one of only two coaches in league history with 300 or more regular-season wins, and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990.

Jim Rogash/Getty Images

1. Bill Belichick [tie]

  • Career postseason wins: 20
  • Career postseason winning percentage: .690
  • Super Bowl titles: 3

Belichick won his 20th career postseason game this past weekend against the Baltimore Ravens, which puts him in a tie with Landry for the all-time postseason wins record. His New England Patriots will be heavy favorites in their game this weekend against the Indianapolis Colts for the AFC Championship. With a Patriots win, Belichick will move into sole possession of the NFL record for most career postseason wins by a coach in league history.

Belichick also has an excellent chance to win the fourth Super Bowl title of his career this season, which would tie the record for most Super Bowl titles by a head coach in league history. He is without a doubt going to be a first-ballot Hall of Famer.