Which States Have More Than 1 NBA Basketball Team?

The NBA has basketball teams all over the United States. While most states don’t have an official NBA team, there are actually some that have more than one franchise located within state lines. So, where are all those teams located throughout the U.S.? 

Let’s take a closer look at what states have one NBA team, which states have multiple clubs, and which have none at all. 

States with one NBA team 

Assistant NBA basketball coach Bill Bertka and his wife putting a map of the United States together
Assistant coach Bill Bertka | Martin Mills/Getty Images

There are 17 states (and one capital city) with exactly one NBA team. Those states include: 

  • Arizona. The Phoenix Suns call Arizona home. 
  • Colorado. Playing a mile high, the Denver Nuggets are Colorado’s only team. 
  • Georgia. Alongside baseball’s Atlanta Braves and football’s Atlanta Falcons, the Atlanta Hawks are the lone NBA team in Georgia. 
  • Illinois. Though they’re far removed from their glory years of Michael Jordan and Scottie Pippen winning six rings in the 90s, the Chicago Bulls remain Illinois’ only team. 
  • Indiana. The Indiana Pacers’ name represents the entire state, but they play in Indianapolis. 
  • Louisiana. They were once known as the Charlotte Hornets, then the New Orleans Hornets. Now the New Orleans Pelicans represent the state of Louisiana. 
  • Massachusetts. The most decorated and winningest team in league history is Massachusetts’ own Boston Celtics. 
  • Michigan. Known for the Malice at the Palace and their dominant “Bad Boys” era, the Detroit Pistons play at Michigan’s Palace of Auburn Hills. 
  • Minnesota. Minneapolis is home to the Minnesota Timberwolves. 
  • North Carolina. The Charlotte Hornets are North Carolina’s only team, once known as the Charlotte Bobcats. 
  • Ohio. This state is home to both one of the greatest players ever (LeBron James) and the Cleveland Cavaliers, the team he led to a championship in 2016.
  • Oklahoma. The Oklahoma City Thunder are Oklahoma’s only franchise. 
  • Oregon. The Portland Trailblazers play in Oregon’s “Rose City.” 
  • Pennsylvania. Playing the basketball home to legends like Julius Erving and Allen Iverson is the Philadelphia 76ers. 
  • Tennessee. Though the franchise began playing in Vancouver, the Memphis Grizzlies are now the only team to play in Tennessee.
  • Utah. Known for John Stockton and Karl Malone’s reign near the top of the Western Conference, the Utah Jazz are the unquestioned most popular sports franchise in Utah. 
  • Wisconsin. The Milwaukee Bucks are the only basketball team in Wisconsin. 
  • Washington, D.C. No, it’s not a state, but the nation’s capital does play host to the Washington Wizards. 

There’s one team that doesn’t play in a U.S. state but serves as the lone representative of an entire nation: Canada’s own Toronto Raptors. 

States with more than one NBA team

There are exactly four states with multiple NBA teams. These are four of the most populous states in the country, each with multiple metropolitan areas, so it makes sense for them to have multiple franchises. Those states are: 

  • California. Los Angeles plays host to two of Cali’s teams: the Lakers and the Clippers. The Golden State Warriors and Sacramento Kings also call California home. 
  • Florida. There are two teams in Florida: the Miami Heat and the Orlando Magic. 
  • New York. New York’s two teams reside in the same place: New York City (though they are in different boroughs. The New York Knicks play in midtown Manhattan while the Nets are in Brooklyn. 
  • Texas. The Dallas Mavericks, Houston Rockets, and San Antonio Spurs are the three Texas teams. 

States with no professional basketball teams

Finally, 29 states have no NBA team. According to Basketball Noise, those states are: 

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

Did you know that while Washington is on this list now, they once had an NBA team? For years, the Seattle Supersonics were a Western Conference powerhouse before moving to Oklahoma City

RELATED: 5 NBA Franchises With the Longest Title Droughts