When Was the Last Time a QB Didn’t Win the AP NFL MVP Award?

Since 1957, there has been an award that recognizes the best NFL player during the season. Jim Brown was the first player to win the AP NFL MVP award, and he won it back-to-back years in 1957 and 1958.

NFL quarterbacks have dominated the MVP award. In the last seven years, a quarterback has won the award. Let’s take a look at who the last non-quarterback was to win the MVP award.

Taking a look at the last three NFL MVP winners

One thing that the last three MVP winners have in common is the position that they play. They were all quarterbacks. There could be another quarterback that wins the MVP award in 2020 as Russell Wilson is the frontrunner early in the season. He can follow in the steps of the last three MVP winners. 

In 2017, Tom Brady won the MVP award. It was Brady’s third MVP award and his first since 2010. Brady was coming off his fifth Super Bowl entering the 2017 season. He finished the 2017 season leading the league in passing yards (4,577) and passing attempts (581). Brady and the Patriots made it back to the Super Bowl for the second consecutive season. They lost to the Philadelphia Eagles, and at the end of the season, Brady won his third MVP award.

In 2018, Patrick Mahomes won his first MVP award. Mahomes had a breakout season in 2018. During the 2018 season, Mahomes threw for 5,097 yards and became one of seven players in NFL history with 5,000 passing yards in a season. He also became the second quarterback in NFL history, along with Peyton Manning, to throw for 5,000 yards and 50 touchdowns. Mahomes deserved the MVP award that season. 

The reigning MVP award winner plays for the Baltimore Ravens, and his name is Lamar Jackson. Jackson had an impressive 2019 season. The talented quarterback can beat a team in many ways using his arm and feet. He threw for 3,127 yards and led the league in passing touchdowns with 36. Jackson became the second player in history after Tom Brady to be voted unanimously to win the MVP award.

A quarterback has won the most MVP awards

The player that has won the most MVP awards is the great Peyton Manning. Manning had a remarkable NFL career, and he left a legacy that will always be remembered. He won his first MVP award in 2003 with the Indianapolis Colts. Manning went on to win a total of four MVP awards during his time with the Colts. 

His fifth and final MVP award came in 2013 with the Denver Broncos. It won’t be long until Manning is inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. His numbers speak for himself, and he always competed at a high level during his career.

The last time a quarterback didn’t win the MVP award came in 2012


Here’s Who Decides the NFL MVP and How They Choose Him

For the past seven years, there’s been a common theme of MVP winners. They have all been quarterbacks. But in 2012, a running back won the award, and that was Adrian Peterson. The current Detroit Lions running back won the award when he was playing for the Minnesota Vikings. 

Peterson spent the majority of his career with the Vikings, and the 2012 season was his best season. That season he rushed for 2,097 yards, which led the league, and he finished with 12 rushing touchdowns. So far, Peterson can say he’s the last non-quarterback to win the MVP award. Who knows when a player playing a different position will win it again.