Who Made up the First ‘Fox NFL Sunday’ Studio Crew?

Millions of football fans have tuned into Fox NFL Sunday for nearly 30 years.

From Terry Bradshaw and Jimmy Johnson’s quips to breaking news updates, te show has satisfied football fans since debuting in 1994.

Who was on the original Fox NFL Sunday crew, and is anyone from the 1994 group still with Fox now? Let’s take a look back.

‘FX NFL Sunday’ has been around since 1994

RELATED: Former Dallas Cowboys Coach Jimmy Johnson Was Awful at 1 Job

Every network seemingly has a football pregame in 2020. Some networks, including CBS and Fox, even have multiple pregame shows across different channels.

Before all of that, though, most networks only had one pregame show. Fox started theirs in 1994 with the aptly–named Fox NFL Sunday.

The show did exactly what it sounded like. Analysts talked about the day ahead, provided updates as they came in, and prepared fans for seven hours of football.

Fox only obtained the rights to NFL games starting in 1994, which is why it took the network so long to have a pregame show.

The show has always had a rotating cast

RELATED: Michael Strahan Gives up the Last Reminder of His NFL Greatness

Some of the most iconic names in football have been on the Fox NFL Sunday crew at some point in their careers.

Curt Menefee has hosted the show since 2006. The show’s four main analysts — Howie Long, Jimmy Johnson, Michael Strahan, and Terry Bradshaw — all are in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Those five have all worked together since 2008. Strahan retired that year following an excellent career with the New York Giants.

Another Pro Football Hall of Famer, legendary tight end Tony Gonzalez, joined the team in 2017 and he has seen his role grow each year.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers tight end Rob Gronkowski worked with the crew as an analyst last year. Gronkowski ended his retirement to join ex-Patriots teammate Tom Brady on the Buccaneers.

Who was on the original ‘Fox NFL Sunday?’

RELATED: Was Terry Bradshaw a Great Quarterback?

When Fox NFL Sunday debuted in 1994, it consisted of a host and four analysts. Let’s look back at who made up that crew.

James Brown, host: A longtime CBS Sports announcer, Brown served as the studio host. Brown held that role until he rejoined CBS following the 2005 season.

Howie Long, analyst: An eight-time Pro Bowl pass-rusher with the Oakland and Los Angeles Raiders, Long retired after the 1993 season and immediately joined Fox’s NFL coverage. Long entered the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2000.

Jimmy Johnson, analyst: A successful coach at the University of Miami and with the Dallas Cowboys, Johnson joined Fox in 1994 after he parted ways with the Cowboys. Johnson returned to coaching in 1996, when he spent four years with the Miami Dolphins.

Johnson returned to Fox, and the show, in 2002. He was named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on live TV earlier this year.

Terry Bradshaw, analyst: The legendary Steelers quarterback, Bradshaw has been a staple of the network’s football coverage for nearly 30 years.

The network did not add other roles, such as a weather analyst or rules analyst, until later on.

Like Sportscasting on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter @sportscasting19.