Skip to main content

Sportscasting | Pure Sports

First opened in 1972 as a drag and road course, the motorsports complex now known as Las Vegas Motor Speedway tacked on an oval as time went by, and several reconfigurations have taken place over the past few decades. As it pertains to the NASCAR Cup Series, which made its debut here in 1998, drivers must contend with the 1.5-mile asphalt track, which includes the “progressive banking” that was added in 2006.

One 400-mile NASCAR Cup Series race was run annually in Vegas from 1998 to 2017. A second was added in 2018 and is part of the NASCAR Playoffs.

Jimmie Johnson owns the most NASCAR Cup Series wins at Las Vegas Motor Speedway with four

Including the race mentioned above run in Vegas in 1998, a 1.605-second victory by Mark Martin over Jeff Burton, there have been 31 Cup Series races on the 1.5-mile tri-oval, and 18 different drivers have taken at least one checkered flag.

Of those 18, eight have won two or more races, and four have won at least three, those being Brad Keselowski, Matt Kenseth, and Joey Logano. That leaves Jimmie Johnson alone at the top with four Cup Series victories at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, including three straight from 2005 to 2007.

Johnson won his fourth in 2010. Jeff Gordon led 219 of 267 laps that day, but Johnson, who led just 18 laps, took the checkered flag by 1.874 seconds over Kevin Harvick. Gordon finished third.

Every NASCAR Cup Series winner at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Denny Hamlin crosses the finish line at Las Vegas Motor Speedway to win NASCAR Cup Series South Point 400
Denny Hamlin crosses the finish line to win the NASCAR Cup Series South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on September 26, 2021 | Steph Chambers/Getty Images

Who Has the Most NASCAR Cup Series Wins?

Here’s a quick look at every NASCAR Cup Series winner at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

  • Jimmie Johnson: 4
  • Matt Kenseth: 3
  • Brad Keselowski: 3
  • Joey Logano: 3
  • Kevin Harvick: 2
  • Martin Truex Jr.: 2
  • Jeff Burton: 2
  • Carl Edwards: 2
  • Kurt Busch: 1
  • Kyle Busch: 1
  • Denny Hamlin: 1
  • Jeff Gordon: 1
  • Tony Stewart: 1
  • Mark Martin: 1
  • Kyle Larson: 1
  • Sterling Marlin: 1
  • Alex Bowman: 1
  • William Byron: 1