NHL Playoff History: Teams To Overcome 3-0 Series Deficit

We publish independently audited information that meets our strong editorial guidelines. Be aware we may earn a commission if you purchase anything via links on our pages.
Edmonton Oilers left wing Warren Foegele (37)

The Edmonton Oilers are trying to become the fifth team in NHL playoff history to overcome a 3-0 series deficit. Before the 2024 Stanley Cup, 210 teams had faced a 3–0 deficit in a best-of-seven series in the NHL playoffs. Only four have gone on to win the series. View the list of teams to overcome a 3-0 series deficit.

Teams Who Lost Game 7 After Coming Back From Down 3-0

In 211 opportunities, the Oilers became the 10th team in NHL history to force a Game 7 after being down 3-0 in the series

Five of the previous nine teams have forced Game 7 but lost the series.

The most recent example came in 2011 when the San Jose Sharks won three straight games against the Detroit Red Wings to force Game 7 in the 2011 Western Conference semifinals. The Sharks could not complete the comeback, losing to the Red Wings in Game 7.

Year and series Series Loser Series Winner
1939 Stanley Cup semifinals New York Rangers Boston Bruins
1945 Stanley Cup Finals Detroit Red Wings Toronto Maple Leafs
1975 Stanley Cup semifinals New York Islanders Philadelphia Flyers
2011 Western Conference quarterfinals Chicago Blackhawks Vancouver Canucks
2011 Western Conference semifinals Detroit Red Wings San Jose Sharks

Teams To Overcome 3-0 Series Deficit

In NHL history, four teams have completed successful comebacks after being down 3-0.

The most recent example happened in 2014 when the Los Angeles Kings won four straight games to defeat the San Jose Sharks in seven games in the first round of the Western Conference playoffs.

If the Oilers beat the Panthers on Monday night, they will become the second team to complete a 3-0 series comeback in the Stanley Cup finals.

The Toronto Maple Leafs won the 1942 Stanley Cup Finals after being down 3-0 in the series to the Detroit Red Wings.

Year and series Series Winner Series Loser
1942 Stanley Cup Finals Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1975 Stanley Cup quarterfinals New York Islanders Pittsburgh Penguins
2010 Eastern Conference semifinals Philadelphia Flyers Boston Bruins
2014 Western Conference first round Los Angeles Kings San Jose Sharks