Skip to main content

Sportscasting | Pure Sports

NBA team Los Angeles Lakers logo on the UCLA Health Training Center in Los Angeles, California
Los Angeles Lakers logo | Jayne Kamin-Oncea/Getty Images

The Los Angeles Lakers compete in the NBA’s Western Conference Pacific Division. The team got its start in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in 1947 and moved to LA in 1960.

Notable Lakers players include Kobe Bryant, Jerry West, Shaquille O’Neal, Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, and Elgin Baylor. The Lakers added another sure-fire Hall of Famer when they signed Lebron James to a four-year contract in 2018. James led the Lakers to their 17th league title in 2020.

  • Established: 1947
  • NBA championships: 17
  • Additional achievements: 19 conference championships and 33 division titles
  • Arena: Arena (Los Angeles, California)
  • Colors: Purple, gold, and black

Visit the Los Angeles Lakers team page.

Read the latest articles about the Los Angeles Lakers:

Read About: LeBron James
Read About: Kobe Bryant