The 1968 New York Jets hold the Super Bowl trophy during a 2008 halftime ceremony honoring the Super Bowl III team
Members of the 1968 New York Jets hold the Super Bowl trophy in 2008 | Al Pereira/Getty Images

The New York Jets are a professional football team that competes in the NFL within the AFC East. The team started as the Titans of New York in the American Football League but joined the NFL in the 1970 merger. (They became the New York Jets seven years before the merger.)

In 1969, the team became the first AFL team to defeat an NFL team in the AFL–NFL Championship. Since then, the Jets have made it to the playoffs 13 times. They have the longest Super Bowl drought of any NFL team except the Cleveland Browns and Detroit Lions. Notable Jets players include Joe Namath, Darrelle Revis, Al Toon, Mark Gastineau, and Kevin Mawae.

  • Established: 1959
  • Super Bowl championships: one (1968)
  • Additional achievements: four division championships (1968, 1969, 1998, and 2002)
  • Arena: MetLife Stadium (East Rutherford, New Jersey)
  • Colors: Gotham green, spotlight white, and stealth black

Featured articles:

Revisiting Darrelle Revis’ Magical 2009 Season — and How He Didn’t Win Defensive Player of the Year

How Many Starting QBs Have the New York Jets Had since Drafting Chad Pennington over Tom Brady in 2000?

When and How Did Jets Legend Joe Namath Earn His ‘Broadway Joe’ Nickname?

Visit the New York Jets’ team page.

Read the latest articles about the New York Jets:

Latest News