Skip to main content

Sportscasting | Pure Sports

As it’s been for a few years now, throwback weekend at famed Darlington Raceway was a smashing success as motorsports fans were not only treated to some fantastic NASCAR racing but also to some phenomenal paint schemes.

One of the cool things about throwback week at Darlington is that NASCAR fans are given a chance to vote on their favorite paint jobs for each series. And since the Truck Series, Xfinity Series, and Cup Series were all at “The Lady in Black” this past weekend, we got three winners.

And while we’re on the subject of a fan vote, we might as well also take a look at the updated voting results for the NASCAR All-Star Race, which is now less than two weeks away.

NASCAR fans vote on the best throwback paint schemes at Darlington

For the Camping World Truck Series, the winner for the best throwback paint scheme at Darlington was the No. 25 Chevrolet driven by Matt DiBenedetto, which was a tribute to two-time Daytona 500 winner Sterling Marlin. DiBenedetto finished 11th in the Truck Series race on Friday night.

Jeremy Clements and Ryan Truex spin after an on-track incident during the NASCAR Xfinity Series Mahindra ROXOR 200 at Darlington Raceway on May 07, 2022 | James Gilbert/Getty Images

The winner in the Xfinity Series was the No. 51 Chevrolet driven by Jeremy Clements, which honored both Dale Earnhardt Sr. and Bud Moore. Clements finished 29th in the Mahindra ROXOR 200 at Darlington on Saturday afternoon. Pretty sure you can guess why from the image above.

And last but certainly not least, Chase Elliott’s No. 9 Chevy, a tribute to Jimmy Means, took the fan vote for the Cup Series race. Elliott finished fifth at Darlington on Sunday and currently holds the No. 1 spot in the points standings.

Updated NASCAR All-Star Race field and fan vote


Outspoken NASCAR Fans Accuse Teresa Earnhardt of Power Move and Changing Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s Throwback Scheme

Set for May 22 at Texas Motor Speedway, the 2022 NASCAR All-Star Race already has 20 drivers locked into the field. And here they are in alphabetical order:

  • A.J. Allmendinger
  • Aric Almirola
  • Christopher Bell
  • Ryan Blaney
  • Alex Bowman
  • Chase Briscoe
  • Kurt Busch
  • Kyle Busch
  • William Byron
  • Ross Chastain
  • Austin Cindric
  • Chase Elliott
  • Denny Hamlin
  • Kevin Harvick
  • Brad Keselowski
  • Kyle Larson
  • Joey Logano
  • Michael McDowell
  • Martin Truex Jr.
  • Bubba Wallace

As for those who haven’t yet made their way into the field, a win at this week’s AdventHealth 400 at Kansas Speedway, the last race before the All-Star Race, would automatically get that done. Winning a stage in the 50-lap NASCAR All-Star Open qualifying race just before the All-Star Race also gets a driver into the field.

But if none of those things happen, a driver can still get into the field via the All-Star Race Fan Vote, provided their car is in raceable condition at the end of the qualifying race. Voting is still ongoing at, and here are the top 10 vote-getters of those currently not eligible, again in alphabetical order:

  • Chris Buescher
  • Harrison Burton
  • Cole Custer
  • Austin Dillon
  • Justin Haley
  • Erik Jones
  • Corey LaJoie
  • Tyler Reddick
  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  • Daniel Suarez

Stats and voting results courtesy of

Like Sportscasting on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter @sportscasting19 and subscribe to our YouTube channel.