Who Has the Most NASCAR Cup Series Wins at Bristol Motor Speedway?

Easily one of the most popular tracks in all of motorsports, Bristol Motor Speedway is also one of the loudest and shortest. Billed as “The World’s Fastest Half-Mile,” the track at Bristol is technically 0.533 miles in length. Typically a concrete oval, the historic venue now also hosts an annual dirt track race, the only such race in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Featuring extraordinarily steep banking, Bristol hosted its first Cup Series race in 1961 and is one of the oldest tracks in NASCAR. And as you can imagine, a historic track brings a historic list of winners.

Darrell Waltrip owns the most NASCAR Cup Series wins at Bristol Motor Speedway with 12

Including that first race in 1961 but not including the two non-points NASCAR All-Star races in 2020, Bristol Motor Speedway has hosted 122 Cup Series races. In those 122 races, a total of 43 different drivers have taken at least one checkered flag.

Of those 43, 21 have won at least two races at “The Last Great Colosseum,” and 15 have won at least three. Eleven took four or more checkered flags at Bristol, while a group of eight took at least five. Kurt Busch owns six victories here, and his brother, Kyle Busch, owns nine.

Busch, Dale Earnhardt Sr., Rusty Wallace, and Cale Yarborough are tied for second with nine victories each, three behind the man with the most wins here, Darrell Waltrip. The 84-time Cup Series winner and NASCAR Hall of Famer won in Bristol for the first time in April 1978 and for the last in August 1992. Waltrip won seven straight at Bristol from March 1981 to April 1984.

Every NASCAR Cup Series winner at Bristol Motor Speedway

Jeff Burton crosses the finish line to win the 2008 NASCAR Cup Series Food City 500 at the Bristol Motor Speedway
Jeff Burton crosses the finish line to win the 2008 NASCAR Cup Series Food City 500 at the Bristol Motor Speedway | Jerry Markland/Getty Images for NASCAR

Here’s a quick look at every NASCAR Cup Series winner at historic Bristol Motor Speedway.

  • Darrell Waltrip: 12
  • Cale Yarborough: 9
  • Rusty Wallace: 9
  • Dale Earnhardt Sr.: 9
  • Kyle Busch: 9
  • Kurt Busch: 6
  • David Pearson: 5
  • Jeff Gordon: 5
  • Bobby Allison: 4
  • Carl Edwards: 4
  • Matt Kenseth: 4
  • Richard Petty: 3
  • Fred Lorenzen: 3
  • Kevin Harvick: 3
  • Brad Keselowski: 3
  • Denny Hamlin: 2
  • Joey Logano: 2
  • Mark Martin: 2
  • Terry Labonte: 2
  • Jimmie Johnson: 2
  • Alan Kulwicki: 2
  • Jim Paschal: 1
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr.: 1
  • Davey Allison: 1
  • Fireball Roberts: 1
  • Ernie Irvan: 1
  • Charlie Glotzbach: 1
  • Jack Smith: 1
  • Elliott Sadler: 1
  • Bill Elliott: 1
  • Joe Weatherly: 1
  • Tony Stewart: 1
  • Donnie Allison: 1
  • Dick Hutcherson: 1
  • Kasey Kahne: 1
  • Paul Goldsmith: 1
  • Kyle Larson: 1
  • Dale Jarrett: 1
  • Jeff Burton: 1
  • Junior Johnson: 1
  • Ned Jarrett: 1
  • Benny Parsons: 1
  • Bobby Johns: 1

Stats courtesy of Racing Reference

RELATED: Who Has the Most NASCAR Cup Series Wins?