Skip to main content

At long last, the 2021-22 PGA Tour season has reached its conclusion as the top 29 players in the FedEx Cup standings will vie for a boatload of cash in Atlanta. As we all know, it was supposed to be 30, but Will Zalatoris sadly had to withdraw due to a back injury.

Just how much money are we talking about? The winner at famed East Lake Golf Club will collect a cool $18 million, three from the win itself and an extra 15 for winning the FedEx Cup title. The runner-up goes home with an additional $6.5 million in his pocket.

While one has to wonder what the field would look like had LIV Golf not poached some of the game’s greatest players, the Tour Championship still has plenty of star power.

But let’s not forget the FedEx Cup finale is unlike any other tournament on the PGA Tour schedule. For the fourth consecutive year, the Tour Championship will be contested using a staggered-stroke format in which the top-seeded player (Scottie Scheffler takes the honor this year) begins the tournament at 10-under, two strokes better than the second-place player in the standings, who begins at 8-under.

No. 3 starts at 7-under, No. 4 starts at 6-under, and No. 5 starts at 5-under. Nos. 6-10 begin at 4-under, Nos. 11-15 begin at 3-under, Nos. 16-20 begin at 2-under, Nos. 21-25 begin at 1-under, and Nos. 26-30 begin at even par.

Where all 29 players will begin the 2022 Tour Championship

PGA Tour Championship logo
The FedEx Cup trophy on the first tee box during the final round of the PGA Tour Championship on September 05, 2021, at East Lake Golf Club | David J. Griffin/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Sepp Straka Is the Epitome of What’s Wrong With the PGA Tour FedEx Cup Playoffs

Here’s a look at where all 29 players will begin the 2022 PGA Tour Championship, which will decide the 16th FedEx Cup champion.

Update: No player will start at 7-under following Will Zalatoris’ withdrawal.

  • Scottie Scheffler: -10
  • Patrick Cantlay: -8
  • Xander Schauffele: -6
  • Sam Burns: -5
  • Cameron Smith: -4
  • Rory McIlroy: -4
  • Tony Finau: -4
  • Sepp Straka: -4
  • Sungjae Im: -4
  • Jon Rahm: -3
  • Scott Stallings: -3
  • Justin Thomas: -3
  • Cameron Young: -3
  • Matt Fitzpatrick: -3
  • Max Homa: -2
  • Hideki Matsuyama: -2
  • Jordan Spieth: -2
  • Joaquin Niemann: -2
  • Viktor Hovland: -2
  • Collin Morikawa: -1
  • Billy Horschel: -1
  • Tom Hoge: -1
  • Corey Conners: -1
  • Brian Harman: -1
  • K.H. Lee: E
  • J.T. Poston: E
  • Sahith Theegala: E
  • Adam Scott: E
  • Aaron Wise: E

Stats courtesy of

Like Sportscasting on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter @sportscasting19 and subscribe to our YouTube channel.