Skip to main content

While the 2022 Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2022 — a group that includes former NFL players Tony Boselli, LeRoy Butler, and Richard Seymour, as well as Super Bowl-winning coach Dick Vermeil — has yet to be officially inducted, the process of electing the class of 2023 has already begun.

The Hall revealed a group of 54 semifinalists this week, 25 players in the Seniors category and another 29 in the Coaches/Contributors category.

Some notable names from the list of players include four-time Pro Bowl quarterback and 1981 NFL MVP Ken Anderson, three-time Super Bowl champion running back Roger Craig, six-time All-Pro cornerback and two-time Super Bowl champion Lester Hayes, and return specialist Billy “White Shoes” Johnson. Former Green Bay Packers wideout Sterling Sharpe is also on the list.

Pro Football Hall of Fame busts
A group of busts at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio | Jay Drowns/Sporting News via Getty Images

On the Coaches/Contributors side, the group of 29 is headlined by the trio of Mike Holmgren, Robert Kraft, and Mike Shanahan.

Holmgren won a Super Bowl as the head coach of the Green Bay Packers and two as an assistant with the San Francisco 49ers.

Kraft, the longtime owner of the New England Patriots, has seen his franchise win six Super Bowls in 10 appearances since he bought the team in 1994.

Shanahan won back-to-back titles as the head coach of the Denver Broncos in John Elway’s final two seasons and won another as an assistant with the Niners.

The Hall’s respective selection committees will narrow each category to 12 finalists, which will be announced on July 27. Here’s a look at all 54 semifinalists.

2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame Seniors semifinalists

  • Ken Anderson
  • Maxie Baughan
  • Mark Clayton
  • Roger Craig
  • LaVern Dilweg
  • Randy Gradishar
  • Lester Hayes
  • Chris Hinton
  • Chuck Howley
  • Cecil Isbell
  • Joe Jacoby
  • Billie “White Shoes” Johnson
  • Mike Kenn
  • Joe Klecko
  • Bob Kuechenberg
  • George Kunz
  • Jim Marshall
  • Clay Matthews Jr.
  • Eddie Meador
  • Stanley Morgan
  • Tommy Nobis
  • Ken Riley
  • Sterling Sharpe
  • Otis Taylor
  • Everson Walls

2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame Coaches/Contributors semifinalists


Who Is the Lowest NFL Draft Pick to Make the Pro Football Hall of Fame?

  • K.S. “Bud” Adams Jr.
  • Roone Arledge
  • C.O. Brocato
  • Don Coryell
  • Otho Davis
  • Ralph Hay
  • Mike Holmgren
  • Frank “Bucko” Kilroy
  • Eddie Kotal
  • Robert Kraft
  • Rich McKay
  • John McVay
  • Art Modell
  • Clint Murchison Jr.
  • Buddy Parker
  • Carl Peterson
  • Dan Reeves
  • Lee Remmel
  • Art Rooney Jr.
  • Marty Schottenheimer
  • Jerry Seeman
  • Mike Shanahan
  • Clark Shaughnessy
  • Seymour Siwoff
  • Amy Trask
  • Jim Tunney
  • Jack Vainisi
  • Lloyd Wells

Nominees courtesy of

Like Sportscasting on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter @sportscasting19 and subscribe to our YouTube channel.