NBA team Miami Heat logo on the court before a game against the Milwaukee Bucks
Miami Heat logo | Michael Reaves/Getty Images

The Miami Heat is a basketball team that competes in the NBA’s Eastern Conference Southeast Division. The Miami Heat formed in 1988 as an expansion team. After a few years of mediocrity, the Heat became championship contenders in the late ‘90s and won their first championship in 2006.

Notable former players include Dwyane Wade, LeBron James, Alonzo Mourning, and Shaquille O’Neal. Wade and O’Neal led the Heat to its 2006 title, while Wade, James, and Chris Bosh helped the Heat claim NBA Finals titles in 2012 and 2013. A unique thing about the Heat? It retired the No. 23 in honor of Michael Jordan, even though he never played for the Heat.

  • Established: 1988
  • Head coach: Erik Spoelstra
  • Governor: Micky Arison
  • Arena: FTX Arena (previously AmericanAirlines Arena)
  • Number of NBA championships: 3
  • Colors: Black, red and yellow

Read the latest articles about the Miami Heat:

Read About: Jimmy Butler
Read About: Dwayne Wade