NFL team Pittsburgh Steelers logo seen at the Los Angeles Convention Center during the Super Bowl Experience
Pittsburgh Steelers logo | Ric Tapia/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Pittsburgh Steelers are part of the AFC North Division in the NFL. Founded in 1933, the seventh-oldest franchise in the league has a large fan base to prove it. The Steelers were known as the Pittsburgh Pirates for the team’s first seven years. Now a four-time Super Bowl championship team, they celebrated their first of 33 playoff appearances in 1947.

Several elements of the Steelers franchise, like the Terrible Towel and Steel Curtain, have earned rightful places in NFL lore. Notable Steelers players past and present include Jack Lambert, Terry Bradshaw Joe Greene, Troy Polamalu, Jack Ham, and Ben Roethlisberger.

  • Founded: 1933
  • Owners: Rooney family
  • Head coach: Mike Tomlin
  • Super Bowl championships: six (1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 2005, and 2008)
  • Stadium: Heinz Field
  • Team colors: Black and gold

Visit the Pittsburgh Steelers at

Read the latest articles about the Pittsburgh Steelers:

Read About: Ben Roethlisberger
Read About: Mitchell Trubisky