Skip to main content

A crazy MLB season naturally brings some crazy statistics but there may be nothing crazier than what the 2020 Los Angeles Dodgers pulled off.

Not only did the Dodgers finish the abbreviated 60-game season with MLB’s best record at 43-17, but the team also finished the year with more home runs than did the 1988 Dodgers squad that won the World Series, a team that obviously played a full schedule, although LA played just 161 games that season. Nevertheless, what this year’s Dodgers did is quite impressive.

The 1988 LA Dodgers hit 99 home runs in 161 regular-season games

On their way to winning the 1988 World Series, the Los Angeles Dodgers won the National League West with a 94-67 record (with a seven-game lead in the division on the final day of the season, making up game No. 162 wasn’t necessary). But that particular team certainly wasn’t known for power. Yes, Kirk Gibson’s legendary home run to win Game 1 of the World Series was one of the team’s defining moments but homers didn’t come that often for the ’88 Dodgers. In the team’s 161 regular-season games, the Dodgers hit just 99 balls out of the yard, good for 22nd out of 26 teams. Here’s the list of home runs hit by LA that year.

  • Kirk Gibson: 25
  • Mike Marshall: 20
  • John Shelby: 10
  • Franklin Stubbs: 8
  • Rick Dempsey: 7
  • Jeff Hamilton: 6
  • Steve Sax: 5
  • Pedro Guerrero: 5
  • Mike Scioscia: 3
  • Tracy Woodson: 3
  • Dave Anderson: 2
  • Mike Davis: 2
  • Alfredo Griffin: 1
  • Mickey Hatcher: 1
  • Tim Belcher: 1

This year’s team hit 118 in 60 games

The 2020 LA Dodgers, on the other hand, are definitely known for their power. This year’s squad hit a home run every 17.3 at-bats and hit a league-leading 118 over the course of 60 games. That’s more than a dozen teams hit in 1988, which just goes to show how much the league has changed over the last three decades. Here’s a breakdown of the home runs hit by the 2020 Dodgers.

  • AJ Pollock: 16
  • Mookie Betts: 16
  • Corey Seager: 15
  • Max Muncy: 12
  • Cody Bellinger: 12
  • Will Smith: 8
  • Chris Taylor: 8
  • Edwin Rios: 8
  • Joc Pederson: 7
  • Enrique Hernandez: 5
  • Justin Turner: 4
  • Gavin Lux: 3
  • Matt Beaty: 2
  • Austin Barnes: 1
  • Keibert Ruiz: 1

The Dodgers begin their quest for their first World Series title since 1988 against the Milwaukee Brewers

LA Dodgers
Los Angeles Dodgers logo | Brian Rothmuller/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The 2020 MLB Postseason Bracket Is Finally Set

With their 43-17 record, the LA Dodgers are obviously the No. 1 seed in the National League playoff bracket and will begin their quest for the franchise’s first World Series title since 1988 with a best-of-three series against the Milwaukee Brewers. If necessary, all three games will be played at Dodger Stadium.

The Dodgers certainly have the power advantage in the series. While they led the league in long balls in 2020, the Brewers finished the year in 16th on the team home run list with 75.

All stats courtesy of Baseball Reference