Skip to main content

Sportscasting | Pure Sports

While NASCAR has a long and storied history in the area, Nashville Superspeedway has only been hosting Cup Series races since 2021.

First opened in 2001, the motorsports complex hosted Xfinity Series and Truck Series races for a decade before essentially shutting down in 2011. Dover Motorsports attempted to sell the property multiple times, but each deal fell through for various reasons.

The track reopened to host a Cup Series race in June 2021 and is now owned by Speedway Motorsports, which bought Dover Motorsports that December. At 1.333 miles, Nashville Superspeedway is the longest concrete oval in NASCAR and currently hosts the Cup Series, Xfinity Series, Truck Series, and the ARCA Menards Series.

The Cup Series ran races at the Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway from 1958 to 1984. Richard Petty won nine times on the half-mile oval.

Who has the most NASCAR Cup Series wins at Nashville Superspeedway?

Nashville Superspeedway NASCAR Cup Series
Nashville Superspeedway | Meg Oliphant/Getty Images

Who Has the Most NASCAR Cup Series Wins?

As Nashville Superspeedway has only been hosting NASCAR Cup Series races, the list of winners obviously isn’t long. Hendrick Motorsports takes up the entire list as Kyle Larson took the checkered flag at the Ally 400 in 2021, while teammate Chase Elliott did so in 2022.

Larson dominated in 2021, leading 264 of 300 laps on the way to a 4.335-second victory over Ross Chastain. It was his third straight win of the year and fourth overall. He notched six more victories on the way to the points title.

Elliott wasn’t nearly as dominant in 2022, leading 42 of 300 laps en route to a .551-second win over Kurt Busch.

Stats courtesy of Racing Reference

Like Sportscasting on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter @sportscasting19 and subscribe to our YouTube channel.