Skip to main content

First opened in February 1996, Texas Motor Speedway hosted its first NASCAR Cup Series race in April 1997, a race won by Jeff Burton.

One of the largest motorsports facilities in the world, “The Great American Speedway” is capable of seating more than 200,000 people and currently hosts two NASCAR weekends. Since 2021, the 1.5-mile quad-oval has been the site of NASCAR’s All-Star festivities and is also one of 10 tracks featured in the NASCAR Playoffs.

Including that first race in 1997, but not including the All-Star runs as those don’t affect the points standings, Texas Motor Speedway has hosted 42 NASCAR Cup Series races. In those 41 races, 22 drivers have taken at least one checkered flag.

And of those 22, nine have won at least twice, while five drivers have won three or more times. Carl Edwards and Kyle Busch are tied for second with four wins each. Jimmie Johnson is the all-time wins leader in Fort Worth, winning a whopping 20% of his starts as he took seven checkered flags in 35 starts.

Who has the most NASCAR Cup Series wins at Texas Motor Speedway?

Texas Motor Speedway NASCAR Cup Series
Texas Motor Speedway | Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Who Has the Most NASCAR Cup Series Wins?

Here’s a quick look at every NASCAR Cup Series winner at Texas Motor Speedway. Once again, only those who won points races are included.

  • Jimmie Johnson: 7
  • Carl Edwards: 4
  • Kyle Busch: 4
  • Denny Hamlin: 3
  • Kevin Harvick: 3
  • Jeff Burton: 2
  • Greg Biffle: 2
  • Tony Stewart: 2
  • Matt Kenseth: 2
  • Kasey Kahne: 1
  • Elliott Sadler: 1
  • Jeff Gordon: 1
  • Ryan Newman: 1
  • Kurt Busch: 1
  • Dale Jarrett: 1
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr.: 1
  • Joey Logano: 1
  • Terry Labonte: 1
  • Austin Dillon: 1
  • Mark Martin: 1
  • Kyle Larson: 1
  • Tyler Reddick: 1

Stats courtesy of Racing Reference

Like Sportscasting on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter @sportscasting19 and subscribe to our YouTube channel.