Skip to main content

There’s simply no getting it around it, folks. Tom Brady is the greatest quarterback in NFL history.

Yes, I’m keenly aware of the arguments for Joe Montana or Peyton Manning or any number of signal-callers whose names have been thrown in the conversation. And just to get this out of the way, no, it’s not just because Brady has won seven Super Bowl titles, although that certainly doesn’t hurt his case, does it?

What might be even more impressive, however, at least in this writer’s opinion, is that he’s been able to play at such an elite level for so long. And that’s what sets him apart from all the rest.

Just think about it. In his first year as a starter with the New England Patriots, Brady won a Super Bowl, which he also did in year 18 as a starter, his 19th overall season.

And in his first year in Tampa Bay, the then-43-year-old led the Buccaneers to their first playoff berth in 13 years, their first postseason win in 15 years, and the franchise’s second Super Bowl victory.

Now think about this fun stat. Over the course of his career, Brady, who played 20 years in the AFC, has just about as many wins against NFC opponents in the postseason as does Aaron Rodgers, who himself has been one of the most elite quarterbacks in the NFL for nearly 15 years.

Aaron Rodgers has beaten nine different NFC teams in the NFL playoffs

Since taking over for Brett Favre in Green Bay in 2008, Aaron Rodgers has started 21 postseason games for the Packers, winning 11 of them.

In those 11 wins, Rodgers has beaten nine different NFC franchises in the NFL playoffs: the Philadelphia Eagles, Atlanta Falcons, Chicago Bears, Minnesota Vikings, Dallas Cowboys (twice), Washington Commanders, New York Giants, Seattle Seahawks, and Los Angeles Rams. His other postseason victory came against the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl 45.

Tom Brady has beaten eight different NFC teams in the NFL playoffs

As for Tom Brady, the first five of his victories over NFC opponents came in the Super Bowl while with the Patriots, earning victories over the Los Angeles Rams (twice), Carolina Panthers, Philadelphia Eagles, Seattle Seahawks, and Atlanta Falcons.

As a regular member of the NFC with the Bucs, he’s beaten the Washington Commanders, New Orleans Saints, and Rodgers’ Green Bay Packers, bringing his total to eight.

Sorry, but that’s just fun.

And for the record, Brady has beaten more NFC franchises in the postseason than did Joe Montana, who beat seven during his run with the San Francisco 49ers.

Just sayin’.

Tom Brady has beaten 11 different AFC franchises in the postseason

Tom Brady Aaron Rodgers
(L-R) Tom Brady; Aaron Rodgers | Patrick Smith/Getty Images; Stacy Revere/Getty Images

Tom Brady and Aaron Rodgers Wear No. 12 For the Exact Same Reason

Since we’re here, we might as well go ahead and look at how many different AFC franchises Tom Brady has beaten in the postseason.

That number is 11 as TB12 has defeated the Las Vegas Raiders, Pittsburgh Steelers (three times), Tennessee Titans (twice), Indianapolis Colts (four times), Jacksonville Jaguars (three times), New York Jets, Los Angeles Chargers (three times), Denver Broncos, Baltimore Ravens (twice), Houston Texans (twice), and Kansas City Chiefs (three times).

So that’s 19 of 32 franchises that Tom Brady has beaten in the postseason, easily the most in NFL history.

Stats courtesy of Pro Football Reference

Like Sportscasting on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter @sportscasting19 and subscribe to our YouTube channel.