Skip to main content

Sportscasting | Pure Sports

Kansas Speedway may not have the storied history of some of NASCAR‘s most famous tracks or hold as many people, but that doesn’t change the fact that we’ve seen some great races take place on the 1.5-mile tri-oval over the last two decades.

Kansas Speedway, which is located in Kansas City, Kansas, first opened in 2001 and is owned by NASCAR, which acquired the track in the merger with the International Speedway Corporation.

From 2001 to 2010, NASCAR held just one race weekend at Kansas Speedway but added a second in 2011, the same year lights were installed, with the second race of the season being a part of the NASCAR Playoffs.

So who has the most NASCAR Cup Series victories at Kansas Speedway?

Denny Hamlin owns four victories at Kansas Speedway

Denny Hamlin currently owns the most NASCAR Cup Series victories at Kansas Speedway with four, the first coming in April 2012.

Hamlin went back-to-back at Kansas in October 2019 and July 2020 and then took checkered flag number four in May 2023.

Jeff Gordon won the first two NASCAR Cup Series at Kansas Speedway and is one of four drivers with three wins on the 1.5-mile track

The first NASCAR Cup Series to take place at Kansas Speedway came back on September 30, 2001, with the running of the Protection One 400, which was just the second Cup Series race to take place after 9/11. Jeff Gordon was the winner that week, edging out Ryan Newman by .413 seconds. Gordon defended his title the following year, with Newman again finishing second. Newman finally took first in 2003.

“The Rainbow Warrior” took his third checkered flag at the track in 2014 and is one of five drivers to win at Kansas Speedway three times, the other four being Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, and Joey Logano.

Six drivers have two wins

Following Gordon, the first driver to capture two NASCAR Cup Series wins at Kansas Speedway was Tony Stewart, who won on the 1.5-mile tri-oval in 2006 and 2009 but never claimed a third title before retiring. Nor did Greg Biffle, who took checkered flags in 2007 and 2010, or Matt Kenseth, who went back-to-back in October 2012 and April 2013.

Brad Keselowski, Martin Truex Jr., and Kyle Busch are the three current Cup Series drivers with two victories.

Year-by-year NASCAR Cup Series results at Kansas Speedway

NASCAR Cup Series driver Joey Logano wins the 2020 Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway
Joey Logano wins the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway | Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Who Has the Most NASCAR Cup Series Wins?

Here are the year-by-year NASCAR Cup Series results at Kansas Speedway.

  • 2001: Jeff Gordon
  • 2002: Jeff Gordon
  • 2003: Ryan Newman
  • 2004: Joe Nemechek
  • 2005: Mark Martin
  • 2006: Tony Stewart
  • 2007: Greg Biffle
  • 2008: Jimmie Johnson
  • 2009: Tony Stewart
  • 2010: Greg Biffle
  • 2011: Brad Keselowski
  • 2011: Jimmie Johnson
  • 2012: Denny Hamlin
  • 2012: Matt Kenseth
  • 2013: Matt Kenseth
  • 2013: Kevin Harvick
  • 2014: Jeff Gordon
  • 2014: Joey Logano
  • 2015: Jimmie Johnson
  • 2015: Joey Logano
  • 2016: Kyle Busch
  • 2016: Kevin Harvick
  • 2017: Martin Truex Jr.
  • 2017: Martin Truex Jr.
  • 2018: Kevin Harvick
  • 2018: Chase Elliott
  • 2019: Brad Keselowski
  • 2019: Denny Hamlin
  • 2020: Denny Hamlin
  • 2020: Joey Logano
  • 2021: Kyle Busch
  • 2021: Kyle Larson
  • 2022: Kurt Busch
  • 2022: Bubba Wallace
  • 2023: Denny Hamlin