Skip to main content

The RBC Heritage gave PGA Tour fans another four days of thrilling golf action as former U.S. Open and Players champion Webb Simpson held off a number of players this past Sunday at Harbour Town in Hilton Head to win his second tournament of the 2019-2020 season. Simpson, who moved into the top five in the world ranking with the victory, finished at 22-under, a tournament record, besting Abraham Ancer by one stroke and Daniel Berger and Tyrrell Hatton by two.

It was Simpson’s second win in his last four starts. He’ll look to make it three out of five when he tees it up this week at the Travelers Championship at TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut, as part of yet another stacked field, a field that will once again not include 82-time PGA Tour winner Tiger Woods.

Unfortunately, the Travelers Championship field will also not include Cameron Champ, who on Tuesday became the second PGA Tour to test positive for COVID-19, joining Nick Watney, who found out he had tested positive ahead of his second round at the RBC Heritage.

Cameron Champ withdrew from the Travelers Championship on Tuesday

Four days after Nick Watney became the first player to test positive for COVID-19, the PGA Tour announced on Tuesday that Cameron Champ had become the second player to contract the coronavirus, which was discovered during pre-tournament screening. Champ, who did not play in the RBC Heritage last week but did tee it up at the Charles Schwab Challenge, tying for 14th, obviously immediately withdrew from the Travelers Championship.

Full test results for the rest of the 156-player field are expected to be released on Wednesday.

Nine of the top 10 players in the world are in the field

Nine of the top 10 players in the world are in the field this week for the Travelers Championship. Only eighth-ranked Adam Scott, who has yet to return to the PGA Tour as he’s choosing to remain in Australia until at least July, will not tee it up at TPC River Highlands. Eight of the current top 10 have played in both events since the restart of the season. Scott obviously hasn’t played yet and ninth-ranked Patrick Cantlay is making his first start since play resumed at the Charles Schwab Challenge two weeks ago. Here’s how the top 10 in the world have fared the last two weeks.

UPDATE: Brooks Koepka has withdrawn from the Travelers Championship as his caddie has tested positive for COVID-19.

LATEST UPDATE: Webb Simpson has also withdrawn as a family member has tested positive for COVID-19.

  1. Rory McIlroy: T-32 at Charles Schwab, T-41 at RBC Heritage
  2. Jon Rahm: MC at Charles Schwab, T-33 at RBC Heritage
  3. Justin Thomas: T-10 at Charles Schwab, T-8 at RBC Heritage
  4. Brooks Koepka: T-32 at Charles Schwab, 7th at RBC Heritage
  5. Webb Simpson: MC at Charles Schwab, Won RBC Heritage
  6. Dustin Johnson: MC at Charles Schwab, T-17 at RBC Heritage
  7. Patrick Reed: T-7 at Charles Schwab, MC at RBC Heritage
  8. Adam Scott: Not in the field at the Travelers Championship
  9. Patrick Cantlay: First event on the PGA Tour since the season resumed
  10. Xander Schauffele: T-3 at Charles Schwab, T-64 at RBC Heritage

The entire field for the PGA Tour Travelers Championship

PGA Tour Travelers Championship
PGA Tour Travelers Championship flag | Tim Bradbury/Getty Images

Here’s a look at the entire 156-player field for the PGA Tour’s 2020 Travelers Championship.

UPDATE: Graeme McDowell and Brooks Koepka have both withdrawn and have been replaced by alternates David Hearn and Tim Wilkinson. The list below reflects those changes.

LATEST UPDATE: Chase Koepka and Webb Simpson have also now withdrawn from the tournament and been replaced by alternates Tyler McCumber and Robert Streb. The list below reflects those changes.

  • Byeong Hun An
  • Abraham Ancer
  • Ryan Armour
  • Aaron Baddeley
  • Lucas Bjerregaard
  • Zac Blair
  • Keegan Bradley
  • Joseph Bramlett
  • Scott Brown
  • Wesley Bryan
  • Bronson Burgoon
  • Sam Burns
  • Rafa Cabrera Bello
  • Patrick Cantlay
  • Sebastian Cappelen
  • Paul Casey
  • Bud Cauley
  • Greg Chalmers
  • Kevin Chappell
  • Stewart Cink
  • Wyndham Clark
  • Corey Conners
  • Austin Cook
  • Joel Dahmen
  • Cameron Davis
  • Jason Day
  • Bryson DeChambeau
  • Luke Donald
  • Tyler Duncan
  • Matt Every
  • Tony Finau
  • Matthew Fitzpatrick
  • Dylan Frittelli
  • Jim Furyk
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Brice Garnett
  • Brian Gay
  • Lucas Glover
  • Talor Gooch
  • Will Gordon
  • Branden Grace
  • Lanto Griffin
  • Emiliano Grillo
  • Fabian Gomez
  • James Hahn
  • Brian Harman
  • Scott Harrington
  • David Hearn
  • Russell Henley
  • J.J. Henry
  • Harry Higgs
  • Bo Hoag
  • Charley Hoffman
  • Tom Hoge
  • Max Homa
  • Billy Horschel
  • Beau Hossler
  • Viktor Hovland
  • Mark Hubbard
  • Mackenzie Hughes
  • Sungjae Im
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Zach Johnson
  • Matt Jones
  • Sung Kang
  • Michael Kim
  • Si Woo Kim
  • Kevin Kisner
  • Patton Kizzire
  • Russell Knox
  • Jason Kokrak
  • Peter Kuest
  • Hank Lebioda
  • Danny Lee
  • Kyoung-hoon Lee
  • Marc Leishman
  • Luke List
  • Adam Long
  • Davis Love III
  • Jamie Lovemark
  • Shane Lowry
  • Hunter Mahan
  • Peter Malnati
  • Denny McCarthy
  • Tyler McCumber
  • Rory McIlroy
  • Troy Merritt
  • Phil Mickelson
  • Keith Mitchell
  • Ryan Moore
  • Collin Morikawa
  • Grayson Murray
  • Sebastian Munoz
  • Kevin Na
  • Matthew Nesmith
  • Joaquin Niemann
  • Seung-yul Noh
  • Henrik Norlander
  • Louis Oosthuizen
  • Rob Oppenheim
  • Carlos Ortiz
  • Ryan Palmer
  • C.T. Pan
  • David Pastore
  • Cameron Percy
  • J.T. Poston
  • Ted Potter, Jr.
  • Ian Poulter
  • Jon Rahm
  • Chez Reavie
  • Doc Redman
  • Patrick Reed
  • Patrick Rodgers
  • Justin Rose
  • Sam Ryder
  • Xander Schauffele
  • Scottie Scheffler
  • Adam Schenk
  • Charl Schwartzel
  • Robby Shelton
  • Vijay Singh
  • Roger Sloan
  • Cameron Smith
  • Brandt Snedeker
  • J.J. Spaun
  • Jordan Spieth
  • Scott Stallings
  • Kyle Stanley
  • Brendan Steele
  • Sepp Straka
  • Robert Streb
  • Kevin Streelman
  • Chris Stroud
  • Brian Stuard
  • Hudson Swafford
  • Vaughn Taylor
  • Sahith Theegala
  • Justin Thomas
  • Michael Thompson
  • Brendon Todd
  • D.J. Trahan
  • Martin Trainer
  • Cameron Tringale
  • Kevin Tway
  • Bo Van Pelt
  • Harold Varner III
  • Jhonattan Vegas
  • Matt Wallace
  • Bubba Watson
  • Richy Werenski
  • Tim Wilkinson
  • Danny Willett
  • Aaron Wise
  • Matthew Wolff
  • Gary Woodland
  • Xinjun Zhang


Former World No. 1 Luke Donald Once Dropped to 919th in the Rankings But is Fighting His Way Back