Skip to main content

An annual NASCAR stop since 1989 (minus 2020 due to COVID-19), Sonoma Raceway is one of the most intriguing tracks on the Cup Series schedule. Formerly known as Sears Point Raceway and Infineon Raceway, Sonoma Raceway is located in the southern Sonoma Mountains in Sonoma, California, and features a 12-turn hilly road course with 160 feet of elevation changes.

Since the Cup Series debuted at Sonoma in 1989, 21 different drivers have won at least one race at the 2.52-mile track, seven of whom have taken multiple checkered flags.

Here’s a quick look at the drivers with the most NASCAR Cup Series victories at Sonoma Raceway.

Jeff Gordon recorded five NASCAR Cup Series wins at Sonoma Raceway

Leading the way with five NASCAR Cup Series victories at Sonoma Raceway is Jeff Gordon, who also holds a number of other track records. The “Rainbow Warrior” picked up his first victory on the road course in 1998, a race in which he also held the pole position. It was the first of three consecutive victories for Gordon at Sonoma as he again won from the pole in 1999 before winning from the fifth position in 2000. Gordon again emerged victorious from the pole in 2004 and won from the 11th position in 2006.

In addition to his five victories, Gordon holds NASCAR Cup Series records at Sonoma for most pole positions (five), most starts (22), most top-fives (14), most top-10s (18), most poles (five), most laps completed (2,233), and most laps led (457).

Martin Truex Jr. has four wins

Just behind Gordon in second place is Martin Truex Jr., who’s taken four checkered flags at Sonoma Raceway.

Truex won for the first time in wine country in 2013, his eighth appearance at the track. He then went back-to-back in 2018 and 2019 and added a fourth title at Sonoma in 2023.

Tony Stewart has three NASCAR Cup Series wins at Sonoma Raceway

In third place with three NASCAR Cup Series wins at Sonoma Raceway is Tony Stewart.

Stewart ended Gordon’s three-race winning streak at Sonoma in 2001, capturing the second of three Cup Series victories he’d have for the season, and also took the checkered flag in 2005 and 2016.

Four drivers have two wins each

Ricky Rudd won the first-ever NASCAR Cup Series race at Sonoma Raceway in 1989 and is one of four drivers with two victories on the track, his second victory coming in 2002. Ernie Irvan (1992, 1994), Rusty Wallace (1990, 1996), and Kyle Busch (2008, 2015) are the other three with two wins each.

And here’s the list of a dozen drivers with one victory each at Sonoma.

  • Davey Allison
  • Geoff Bodine
  • Clint Bowyer
  • Kurt Busch
  • Dale Earnhardt Sr.
  • Carl Edwards
  • Robby Gordon
  • Kevin Harvick
  • Jimmie Johnson
  • Kasey Kahne
  • Kyle Larson
  • Mark Martin
  • Juan Pablo Montoya
  • Daniel Suarez


Who Has the Most NASCAR Cup Series Wins?