Skip to main content

The Philadelphia 76ers have had some iconic players over the years. Julius Erving, Charles Barkley, Allen Iverson, and Wilt Chamberlain likely first come to mind. Joel Embiid has since entered that stratosphere as well, developing into an MVP-caliber big man.

However, despite having several superstars in Barkley, Iverson, and Embiid throughout the last few decades, the Sixers have failed to win an NBA championship during that time.

So, when was the last year Philly hoisted the Larry O’Brien Trophy?

The Philadelphia 76ers’ last championship came in 1982-83

The Philadelphia 76ers during their last NBA championship.
The Philadelphia 76ers during their most recent NBA championship in 1982-83. | Mike Calendrillo/Sportscasting

Charles Barkley became the face of the 76ers not long after the team drafted him in 1984. Allen Iverson then later became the man in the late 1990s and early 2000s before Joel Embiid eventually took things over in 2016.

But all three of those legends have one thing in common: The 76ers have failed to win a title throughout their respective tenures.

Iverson got the closest, leading Philadelphia to the 2001 NBA Finals, but the Los Angeles Lakers won the series in five games.

So, when was the last time the 76ers won a championship?

The 1982-83 season.

Philly has won three titles in franchise history. After winning it all in 1955 and 1967, Julius Erving led the Sixers to three Finals in six seasons between 1977 and 1982. And in 1983, they made the championship series for the second consecutive season and the fourth time in seven years, and they finally won.

Moses Malone led the team in scoring that season with 24.5 points per game, and Erving was right behind him with 21.4. They then beat the Lakers 4-0 in the Finals, and Malone won Finals MVP with 25.8 points and 18.0 rebounds per game in the series.

Joel Embiid can lead the Sixers to the mountaintop again

The difference between Embiid and both Barkley and Iverson is that the former still has a chance to lead the 76ers to glory.

He has become one of the best players in the NBA, leading the league with 30.6 points per game in 2021-22. Embiid also helped Philly claim the No. 1 record in the Eastern Conference in 2020-21, but they eventually lost in the conference semifinals.

Now, though, he is on a team with immense talent.

After failing to win a title with Ben Simmons, Embiid has since teamed up with one of the greatest scorers of all time in James Harden. The 76ers also have a terrific young guard in Tyrese Maxey and a strong forward in Tobias Harris.

No, the Sixers haven’t won a title in nearly 40 years, but they have as good a chance as anyone to win an NBA championship in the coming seasons.

Stats courtesy of Basketball Reference


What’s Doc Rivers’ All-Time Playoff Record?