Skip to main content

Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods are the two greatest golfers ever to walk the planet. We won’t get into the GOAT conversation here, but no matter the order, they should be No. 1 and No. 2 on any list. But for whatever reason, the two legends who’ve combined to win 155 PGA Tour events and 33 major championships could never win at Riviera Country Club.

Seriously. Of the incredible list of winners at the famed Pacific Palisades club, which has hosted the tournament now known as the Genesis Invitational (formerly the Los Angeles Open) close to 75 times (and a few major championships), neither Jack Nicklaus nor Tiger Woods is on it.

Now, it’s not as if both didn’t have their chances.

Tiger Woods and Jack Nicklaus at Riviera Country Club
(L-R) Tiger Woods at Riviera Country Club circa 2020; Jack Nicklaus at Riviera Country Club circa 1978 | Chris Trotman/Getty Images; P Miller /American Broadcasting Companies via Getty Images

In his first appearance at Riviera in 1973, Nicklaus finished sixth, just four shots back of winner Rod Funseth. Five years later, he was tied for the lead at the LA Open but double-bogeyed the 15th and bogeyed the 16th, ultimately losing by two to Gil Morgan. Another five years later, Nicklaus was the runner-up at the 1983 PGA Championship, losing to Hal Sutton by a stroke.

As for Tiger Woods, who made his PGA Tour debut at Riviera at the age of 16 in 1992, he had several top-five finishes, including a tie for second in 1999. But Riviera remains the venue he’s played the most without a victory.

As for the historic list of players who have earned a victory (or multiple) at Riviera Country Club, here’s a look at all of them.

Riviera Country Club-PGA Tour

1929Los Angeles OpenMacdonald Smith
1930Los Angeles OpenDenny Shute
1941Los Angeles OpenJohnny Bulla
1945Los Angeles OpenSam Snead
1946Los Angeles OpenByron Nelson
1947Los Angeles OpenBen Hogan
1948Los Angeles OpenBen Hogan
1949Los Angeles OpenLloyd Mangrum
1950Los Angeles OpenSam Snead
1951Los Angeles OpenLloyd Mangrum
1952Los Angeles OpenTommy Bolt
1953Los Angeles OpenLloyd Mangrum
1973Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenRod Funseth
1974Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenDave Stockton
1975Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenPat Fitzsimons
1976Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenHale Irwin
1977Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenTom Purtzer
1978Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenGil Morgan
1979Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenLanny Wadkins
1980Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenTom Watson
1981Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenJohnny Miller
1982Glen Campbell-Los Angeles OpenTom Watson
1984Los Angeles OpenDavid Edwards
1985Los Angeles OpenLanny Wadkins
1986Los Angeles OpenDoug Tewell
1987Los Angeles Open presented by NissanT.C. Chen
1988Los Angeles Open presented by NissanChip Beck
1989Nissan Los Angeles OpenMark Calcavecchia
1990Nissan Los Angeles OpenFred Couples
1991Nissan Los Angeles OpenTed Schulz
1992Nissan Los Angeles OpenFred Couples
1993Nissan Los Angeles OpenTom Kite
1994Nissan Los Angeles OpenCorey Pavin
1995Nissan OpenCorey Pavin
1996Nissan OpenCraig Stadler
1997Nissan OpenNick Faldo
1999Nissan OpenErnie Els
2000Nissan OpenKirk Triplett
2001Nissan OpenRobert Allenby
2002Nissan OpenLen Mattiace
2003Nissan OpenMike Weir
2004Nissan OpenMike Weir
2005Nissan OpenAdam Scott
2006Nissan OpenRory Sabbatini
2007Nissan OpenCharles Howell III
2008Northern Trust OpenPhil Mickelson
2009Northern Trust OpenPhil Mickelson
2010Northern Trust OpenSteve Stricker
2011Northern Trust OpenAaron Baddeley
2012Northern Trust OpenBill Haas
2013Northern Trust OpenJohn Merrick
2014Northern Trust OpenBubba Watson
2015Northern Trust OpenJames Hahn
2016Northern Trust OpenBubba Watson
2017Genesis OpenDustin Johnson
2018Genesis OpenBubba Watson
2019Genesis OpenJ.B. Holmes
2020Genesis InvitationalAdam Scott
2021Genesis InvitationalMax Homa
2022Genesis InvitationalJoaquin Niemann
2023Genesis InvitationalJon Rahm

Riviera Country Club-Major championships

1948U.S. OpenBen Hogan
1983PGA ChampionshipHal Sutton
1995PGA ChampionshipSteve Elkington

How Much Does It Cost to Play Riviera Country Club?