Skip to main content

Coming off a whirlwind weekend which saw Collin Morikawa capture his first major with a breathtaking victory at the PGA Championship, it’s time to get back down to business as the PGA Tour prepares for its last stop before the FedEx Cup Playoffs: the Wyndham Championship from beautiful Sedgewick Country Club in Greensboro, North Carolina.

While some players are fighting just to continue their season with a good finish at the Wyndham Championship to get into the top 125 of the FedEx Cup standings, which ensures them a spot at next week’s Northern Trust at TPC Boston, others are trying to earn a little extra payday by moving up the board in the Wyndham Rewards Top 10. Some players are in Greensboro this week just trying to inch a little closer to the top 70 in the standings to help better their chances of getting into the second leg of the playoffs, the BMW Championship, in a couple of weeks.

But whatever the reasons, the field at the Wyndham Championship is absolutely stacked.

Numerous players in the top 10 of the FedEx Cup standings are in the field at the Wyndham Championship

Coming into the Wyndham Championship, there isn’t a single player in the field that can overtake Justin Thomas atop the FedEx Cup standings, which means that the No. 2 player in the world is already guaranteed a $2 million regular-season bonus. For those unaware, the top 10 in the standings split a $10 million pool, which was introduced last year as the Wyndham Rewards Top 10.

Thomas is currently 556 points ahead of second-place Collin Morikawa, meaning that even with a win, Morikawa couldn’t have caught Thomas as this week’s winner receives 500 FedEx Cup points, which obviously wouldn’t be enough. But Morikawa, who right now stands to collect $1.5 million, isn’t in the field this week. But third-place Webb Simpson is.

Simpson is just 158 points behind Morikawa coming into Greensboro, which means that if he finishes third or higher, he’ll surpass the PGA champ and collect that $1.5 million. If he doesn’t, he’ll just have to settle for the $1.2 million that’s guaranteed to the No. 3 slot. By the way, Simpson finished in solo second at this tournament a year ago.

There are a number of similar scenarios that could play out like that this week as Simpson, No. 5 Sungjae Im, No. 6 Patrick Reed, and No. 9 Brendon Todd are in the field at the Wyndham Championship. Morikawa, No. 4 Bryson DeChambeau, No. 7 Daniel Berger, No. 8 Rory McIlroy, and No. 10 Jon Rahm are not.

A few players just outside the top 10 could sneak in and steal some cash as well.

Big-name players looking to better their position are in Greensboro this week

While the Wyndham Championship usually doesn’t have a load of big-name players in attendance, that’s certainly not the case this week. Along with Webb Simpson, who is currently ranked sixth in the Official World Golf Ranking, No. 7 Brooks Koepka is also in the field in Greensboro.

Koepka, coming off a disappointing final round at the PGA Championship, is currently 92nd in the FedEx Cup standings and seems to be looking to move up a bit, as are No. 94 Jordan Spieth and No. 103 Justin Rose. The three will play together in the first two rounds as one of the featured groups.

PGA Championship runner-up Paul Casey is also in the field and will play alongside Patrick Reed and reigning Open champion Shane Lowry, who is currently 131st in the standings and needs a good finish just to make it to the Northern Trust. Tommy Fleetwood is in the field. Sergio Garcia is just one of many major champions in Greensboro, a list that also includes fan favorites Davis Love III and Jim Furyk.

A look at the entire field for the Wyndham Championship

Wyndham Championship
Wyndham Championship | William Howard/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Phil Mickelson’s Best Work at the PGA Championship Wasn’t on the Golf Course

Here’s a look at the entire field for the 2020 Wyndham Championship from Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, North Carolina.

  • Mark Anderson
  • Kiradech Aphibarnrat
  • Ryan Armour
  • Arjun Atwal
  • Aaron Baddeley
  • Chris Baker
  • David Berganio Jr.
  • Christiaan Bezuidenhout
  • Akshay Bhatia
  • Zac Blair
  • Joseph Bramlett
  • Ryan Brehm
  • Scott Brown
  • Wesley Bryan
  • Bronson Burgoon
  • Sam Burns
  • Rafa Cabrera Bello
  • Sebastian Cappelen
  • Paul Casey
  • Bud Cauley
  • Greg Chalmers
  • Stewart Cink
  • Wyndham Clark
  • Corey Conners
  • Austin Cook
  • Vince Covello
  • Cameron Davis
  • Luke Donald
  • Jason Dufner
  • Tyler Duncan
  • Harris English
  • Matt Every
  • Tommy Fleetwood
  • Dylan Frittelli
  • Jim Furyk
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Brice Garnett
  • Brian Gay
  • Michael Gellerman
  • Doug Ghim
  • Rhein Gibson
  • Michael Gligic
  • Lucas Glover
  • Fabian Gomez
  • Talor Gooch
  • Will Gordon
  • Branden Grace
  • Bill Haas
  • Chesson Hadley
  • Brandon Hagy
  • Brian Harman
  • Scott Harrington
  • David Hearn
  • Russell Henley
  • Jim Herman
  • Kramer Hickok
  • Harry Higgs
  • Bo Hoag
  • Charley Hoffman
  • Tom Hoge
  • Billy Horschel
  • Beau Hossler
  • Charles Howell III
  • Mark Hubbard
  • Sungjae Im
  • Zach Johnson
  • Matt Jones
  • Sang Kung
  • Michael Kim
  • Si Woo Kim
  • Chris Kirk
  • Kevin Kisner
  • Patton Kizzire
  • Russell Knox
  • Brooks Koepka
  • Jason Kokrak
  • Anirban Lahiri
  • Andrew Landry
  • Nate Lashley
  • Hank Lebioda
  • Nelson Ledesma
  • Danny Lee
  • Kyoung-Hoon Lee
  • Tom Lewis
  • Luke List
  • Adam Long
  • Davis Love III
  • Shane Lowry
  • Peter Malnati
  • Ben Martin
  • Denny McCarthy
  • Tyler McCumber
  • Graeme McDowell
  • Maverick McNealy
  • Troy Merritt
  • Keith Mitchell
  • Ryan Moore
  • Sebastian Munoz
  • Grayson Murray
  • Matthew NeSmith
  • Joaquin Niemann
  • Henrik Norlander
  • Rob Oppenheim
  • Carlos Ortiz
  • C.T. Pan
  • Brinson Paolini
  • Cameron Percy
  • Pat Perez
  • Carl Pettersson
  • Scott Piercy
  • J.T. Poston
  • Ted Potter Jr.
  • Seamus Power
  • Chez Reavie
  • Doc Redman
  • Patrick Reed
  • Patrick Rodgers
  • Justin Rose
  • Sam Ryder
  • Rory Sabbatini
  • Adam Schenk
  • Matthias Schwab
  • Charl Schwartzel
  • Chase Seiffert
  • John Senden
  • Robby Shelton
  • Jake Shuman
  • Webb Simpson
  • Roger Sloan
  • Brandt Snedeker
  • J.J. Spaun
  • Jordan Spieth
  • Scott Stallings
  • Kyle Stanley
  • Sepp Straka
  • Robert Streb
  • Chris Stroud
  • Brian Stuard
  • Ben Taylor
  • Josh Teater
  • Brendon Todd
  • D.J. Trahan
  • Martin Trainer
  • Kevin Tway
  • Peter Uihlein
  • Bo Van Pelt
  • Harold Varner III
  • Jhonattan Vegas
  • Kristoffer Ventura
  • Matt Wallace
  • Nick Watney
  • Vincent Whaley
  • Tim Wilkinson
  • Danny Willett
  • Aaron Wise
  • Xinjun Zhang