Skip to main content

While other teams may try to claim the title of the oldest franchise in Major League Baseball, the Atlanta Braves are considered by most to be the oldest continually operating team. Founded in 1871 in Boston as the Red Stockings, the team underwent quite a few name changes in the early years of the franchise (Red Caps, Beaneaters, Doves, Rustlers) before finally settling on the Braves moniker in 1912, although the team was briefly called the Bees from 1936 to 1940. The team moved from Boston to Milwaukee in 1953 and then to its current home in Atlanta in 1966. The Braves are the only team in MLB history to win a World Series while playing in three different cities.

So exactly how many World Series have the Braves won? Well, we’ve already answered that question: three. The Boston Braves won the 1914 World Series, the Milwaukee Braves won the World Series in 1957, and the Atlanta Braves were crowned champions in 1995. The franchise has made nine overall appearances in the Fall Classic, not including the appearances in championship series before the World Series became a thing in 1903.

So let’s take a quick look back at the three World Series wins of the Braves.

The Boston Braves swept the Philadelphia A’s in the 1914 World Series

Led by MVP second baseman Johnny Evers, the 1914 Boston Braves went 94-59 in the regular season on their way to the National League title. The Braves actually had the top three vote-getters in the NL MVP race that season as shortstop Rabbit Maranville placed second with pitcher Bill James coming in third.

Despite being in last place in the National League at midseason, the team that would come to be known as the “Miracle Braves” went on a tear in the second half of the season and won the NL pennant by 10.5 games over the New York Giants. The Braves then swept the heavily-favored Philadelphia Athletics in the World Series to complete one of the most remarkable turnarounds in sports history.

The team had the MVP, Cy Young winner, and won the World Series in 1957

The Braves’ fifth season in Milwaukee was quite the magical one. Not only did the Braves win the National League with a 95-59 record, they had the NL MVP and Cy Young Award winner as well.

At the young age of 23, Hank Aaron won his first and only MVP award with a fantastic 1957 campaign in which he hit .322 with 44 home runs and 130 runs batted in. On the mound, left-hander Warren Spahn won the first and only Cy Young of his Hall of Fame career with a 21-11 record, 18 complete games, a 2.69 ERA, and 111 strikeouts.

In the World Series, the Braves matched up with the New York Yankees and engaged in an epic series that went all seven games. Five of the first six games were decided by two runs or less, including an extra-inning affair in Game 4, but the Braves won the decisive Game 7 in convincing fashion, 5-0, behind a complete-game shutout from Lew Burdette. The Yankees would get their revenge a year later in another seven-game battle.

The Atlanta Braves made five World Series appearances in the 1990s and won in 1995

With such a talented roster, it’s surprising that the 1995 Atlanta Braves only posted 90 wins. The pitching staff was stocked with future Hall of Famers in Greg Maddux, who won his third consecutive Cy Young that season, Tom Glavine, and John Smoltz, who had a combined record of 47-16, and the lineup featured four players that hit 23 or more home runs in Chipper Jones, Ryan Klesko, David Justice, and Fred McGriff.

The Braves defeated the Rockies in four games in the NLDS, swept the Reds in the NLCS, and then took down the Indians in six games in the World Series. The Braves had lost the World Series in 1991 and 1992 and also lost their next two appearances in 1996 and 1999.

All stats courtesy of Baseball Reference


10 MLB Records That Will Never Be Broken