New Orleans Saints NFL team logo on flag on a fluttering flag
Flag with the New Orleans Saints logo | Wesley Hitt/Getty Images

The New Orleans Saints is a professional American football team that competes in the National Football League (NFL). Based in New Orleans, Louisiana, the Saints belong to the National Football Conference (NFC) South division along with the Atlanta Falcons, the Carolina Panthers, and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Founded in 1966, the New Orleans Saints was named after the city’s jazz music history (primarily the spiritual hymn “When the Saints Go Marching In.” A year later, the team joined the NFL in 1967 as an expansion team. The team has an unfortunate reputation in the NFL due to its lack of success, including 20 consecutive seasons without a winning record (more wins than losses). However, the Saints are only one of two teams to have won its only Super Bowl appearance (XLIV in 2009), with the other franchise being the New York Jets (III in 1968).

During its franchise history, the New Orleans Saints have included seven Pro Football Hall of Fame players, including NFL Most Valuable Player (MVP) winner Drew Brees. Other famous Saints players include Marques Colton, Rickey Jackson, Cameron Jordon, Archie Manning, and Willie Roaf.

  • Established: 1966
  • Home State: Louisiana
  • Colors: Old Gold, Black, and White
  • Mascot: Gumbo the Dog
  • Owner: Gayle Benson
  • Head Coach: Vacant
  • Arena: Caesars Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana
  • Super Bowl Championships: 1

Visit the New Orleans Saints‘ team page

Read the latest articles about the New Orleans Saints