Wil Myers of the San Diego Padres is congratulated by Manny Machado, Fernando Tatis Jr., and Austin Nola after hitting a grand slam in 2020
The San Diego Padres’ Wil Myers, Manny Machado, Fernando Tatis Jr., and Austin Nola | Denis Poroy/Getty Images

One of two MLB teams to originate in California, the San Diego Padres have never won a World Series despite making it to two finals. Originally an expansion team, the franchise struggled for many years despite landing first baseman Nate Colbert in the expansion draft.

Since the team’s founding in 1969, the Padres have earned 15 winning seasons and two NL pennants. Right-fielder Tony Gwynn led the Padres in the ’80s and ’90s, eventually earning eight MLB batting titles. Other notable Padres players over the years include Trevor Hoffman, Dave Winfield, Manny Machado, and Fernando Tatis Jr.

  • Founded: 1969
  • World Series wins: none
  • Additional achievements: two NL pennants (1984 and 1998) and five West Division titles (1984, 1996, 1998, 2005, and 2006)
  • Arena: Petco Park

Featured Articles:

How Good Was Padres Star Fernando Tatís Jr.’s Father, Fernando Sr.?

5 Longest World Series Droughts After the Cubs and Indians

The Padres’ Manny Machado Makes More in 1 Hour Than Many Make in a Year

Visit the San Diego Padres at MLB.com.

Read the latest articles about the San Diego Padres:

Latest News