Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers, Blake Griffin, and DeAndre Jordan sit on stage during a media day at the Los Angeles Clippers Training Center in 2016
Former Los Angeles Clippers Chris Paul, Blake Griffin, and DeAndre Jordan in 2016 | Jayne Kamin-Oncea/Getty Images

The Los Angeles Clippers are a professional basketball team that competes in the NBA within the Western Conference’s Pacific Division. The team started as an expansion team, the Buffalo Braves, in 1970 before moving to San Diego and becoming the Clippers — a reference to the sailing vessels in the city’s bay — in 1978. Owner Donald Sterling’s illegal relocation of the team to Los Angeles took place in 1984, where the franchise has resided ever since.

After nearly 40 years in LA, the Clippers still struggle to make it to the postseason. The team did improve in the 2010s when Chris Paul led teammates like Blake Griffin, DeAndre Jordan, and JJ Redick to relative success. In 2013 and 2014, the Clippers won division titles; the franchise finally reached the Conference Finals in 2021. Unfortunately for loyal fans, the Clippers have never made it to the NBA Finals.

Featured articles:

Which NBA Teams Have Never Won a Championship?

Blake Griffin Was Told He’d Be an LA Clipper for Life Mere Months Before Being Traded to the Tanking Detroit Pistons

Chris Paul Gets Real About His Legacy: ‘Not Until the Job Is Done’

Visit the Los Angeles Clippers on

Read the latest articles about the Los Angeles Clippers:

Latest News